Contact Us
Site Areas

Westchester County Real Estate Closing Lawyer

About Westchester County, New York:

Westchester County is located just north of New York City, bordering Putnam County to the north and Rockland County to the west. The county occupies 450 square miles. The land was originally occupied by Native American Indians belonging to several tribes including the Weckquaesgeek Indians, Manhattan Indians, Tankiteke Indians, Wappinger Indians, and the Sintsink Indians.

Giovanni da Verrazzano was the first European explorer to visit the Westchester area in 1524. Henry Hudson visited the area in 1609. In the 1620’s Dutch settlers began to settle in the area, followed by English settlers in the 1640’s.

The growth of Westchester was significantly impacted by the construction of the Croton Dam and Aqueduct and the development of the Westchester railroad system.  Completed in 1842, the Croton Dam and Aqueduct are today considered one of the great engineering achievements of the 19th century. The Westchester railroad system which included the Hudson River Railroad and the New York and Harlem Railroad, helped shift the population from North Westchester, to South Westchester.  Following the Civil War, a number of wealthy businessmen began to build large estates in Westchester such as the Jay Gould estate located in Tarrytown. Today Westchester County consists of 19 towns, 23 villages and 6 cities. 

In 2019, 7069 single family homes were sold in Westchester County with a median sale price of $ 630,000. The most expensive area in Westchester County continues to be in Rye, with a median price of approximately $1.68 million.

Westchester County Real Estate Lawyers are prepared to assist and represent buyers and sellers of residential and commercial properties throughout Westchester County including Yonkers, New Rochelle, Mount Vernon, White Plains, Peekskill, Rye, Cortlandt, Bedford, Croton-on-Hudson, Buchanan, Eastchester, Bronxville, Tuckahoe, Greenburgh, Ardsley, Dobbs Ferry, Elmsford, Hastings-on-Hudson, Irvington, Tarrytown, Harrison, Purchase, Lewisboro, Mamaroneck, Larchmont, Sleepy Hollow, Mount Pleasant, Mount Kisco, New Castle, and Scarsdale.